One of the most complicated tasks we face as an academic is to convince other people that education is important. That used to be an easy argument because we could use the carrot that was the inevitable job after college. But now, because of modernity and technology, the benefits of a college degree are harder to lay out. This gets even more complicated when you look at the arts. I teach Creative Writing. My job is to explain to students how to write fiction. I make my students read a lot and write a lot. If you take my class, it will be difficult. Getting an “A” is hard. I will take up large amounts of your time and energy and I can’t promise that you will ever write that book and become rich and famous.

There is only one, good reason to take a class that I teach: to become a more educated member of society. Education allows us to know more about the world and to enjoy the world in a deeper, sincerer way. Gaining that level of insight takes time and it is always perilous. No one is asking you to become more educated. In fact, many people would like you not to. If you are reading this and you’re thinking of taking my class, know that becoming an educated individual has always been an act of civil disobedience. That in and of itself should be the only reason you ever do anything.

Prof. Slacks is teaching:

  • Advanced Creative Writing, ENGL 265, CRN 23905
  • Tuesday Night, 6:30 p.m. to 9:05 p.m.

You can find him:

