I won’t try to convince you of the usefulness of literature because its beauty lies in its non-usefulness.  What can you possibly gain from studying the haughtiness of Achilles or the blind stupidity of Oedipus?  What good can come of learning about the promiscuity of Chaucer’s Wife of Bath?  How can the melancholy wistfulness of the ‘Tale of Genji’ be of any use to you?  You can only derive an intense introspective pleasure from reading these works and be struck by the parallels between the worlds of antiquity, the Middle Ages, and the Renaissance and our modern day existence.  That is all.  If that interests you, please consider signing up for my English 201: World Literature I offered on Rockville campus in Fall 2017.

As for me, what more can I say other than the fact that I am an English professor.  Stacks of essays, cups of coffee, tons of green pens—you get the picture.  Literature is my release, my passion.  My specialization is in British Literature, and my research interests include studies in culture and identity, globalization, and interdisciplinary studies

Prof. Sen teaches:

  • World Literature I, ENGL-201, Fall 2017, CRN 20692
  • Rockville campus

You can reach her:

